Governing Board

The Governing Board is the decision making body. It seeks advice from the Management Board, the Advisory Boards and emerging Task Forces. The Management Board supports the Governing Board in all aspects concerning the preparation and implementation of decisions. Task Forces are conceived as “ad-hoc” groups. They are set up to respond to specific technical, scientific or administrative demands of the Governig Board and/or the Management Board. The Secretariat organises the day-to-day management and implements the tasks assigned to it by the Governing Board and the Management Board, reporting to both of them.

The Governing Board is the ultimate body responsible for the JPI, which deals with JPI policy and strategic issues. Its strategic decisions are based on advice provided by the Management Board and Advisory Boards. The Governing Board is composed by a Chair, three Co-Chairs and members (Water JPI participating countries and the European Commission).

All Water JPI participating countries are to be represented in the Governing Board through national delegations (National delegates). At least one of the national delegates must be affiliated to a programme owner institution. Additional country representatives can attend Governing Board meetings to advise the National Delegate. The voting role resides with the national delegates affiliated to programme owner institutions that are full members of the Water JPI. Each national delegation can only have one vote (one country = one vote).
The European Commission and Observer countries act as non-voting members.

For more inforamtion on Governing Board role and functions, consult the Duties document for the list of activities of the different components of the Water JPI structure.

Intranet Log in


Maurice HERAL

National Research Agency


Miguel-Angel GILARRANZ

State Research Agency



National Research Agency

Member Counties
Austria Environment Agency Austria (voting member)
Cyprus Research Promotion Foundation (voting member)
Czech Republic Ministry of Education, Youth and Sport (voting member)
Denmark Innovation Fund Denmark (voting member)

Ministry of the Environment, Water Department (voting member)

Tallinn University, Institute of Ecology

Finland Academy of Finland (voting member)

National Research Agency (voting member)

AllEnvi BRGM



Federal Ministry of Education and Research (voting member)

Project Management Jülich

Ireland Environmental Protection Agency (voting member)
Israel Ministry of Energy (voting member)


Ministry of Education, Universities and Research (voting member)

Institute for Environmental Protection and Research

Latvia (Rep. of)



Ministry of Education and Science (voting member)

Ministry of Environmental Protection and Regional Development (voting member)

Riga Technical University

Moldova (Rep.of)

National Agency for Research and Development (voting member)

The Netherlands Ministry of Infrastructure and Water Management (voting member)

Research Council of Norway (voting member)

Norwegian Environment Agency (voting member)


Ministry of Science and Higher Education (voting member)

European Regional Centre for Ecohydrology

Portugal Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia (voting member)

National Authority for Scientific Research (voting member)

Executive Agency for Higher Education, Research, Development and Innovation Funding

South Africa


Department of Science and Technology (voting member)

Water Research Commission


State Research Agency (voting member)


Swedish Research Council Formas (voting member)

Swedish Agency for Marine and Water Management (voting member)

Turkey Scientific and Technological Research Council (voting member)
United Kingdom

UK Research and Innovation (voting member)

Centre for Ecology & Hydrology

European Commission

(non voting member)

Directorate-General Research and Innovation

Observer Countries
Belgium Department of Economy, Science & Innovation
Greece National Technical University of Athens
Hungary National Research, Development and Innovation Office

Document Actions

published on 2015/05/22 10:46:00 GMT+0 last modified 2019-01-11T10:07:51+00:00