

Despo FATTA-KASSINOS (Chair)		
Function	Director, Nireas International Water Research Center	
Institution	Nireas - IWRC, University of Cyprus	
Email	dfatta@ucy.ac.cy	
Phone	+357 22 89 3515	
Direction	Water and wastewater treatment and reuse; Substances of emerging concern in the environment and technical systems; Ecotoxicity	

Areas of expertise

The overlying goal of her research is the development and application of new advanced processes for the degradation and removal of contaminants of emerging concern from water and wastewater, the development and application of analytical methods for their identification, including their transformation products, and the assessment of their biological potency and of other environmental effects.

Professional Background

Dr. Despo Fatta-Kassinos is Associate Professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, and Director of Nireas-International Water Research Center, at the University of Cyprus. She has over 106 peer-reviewed scientific publications in SCI journals and 98 conference publications, and co-edited the book "Xenobiotics in the urban water cycle" published by Springer. In 2012, she received the distinguished national research award "Nikos Symeonides" for her work on wastewater treatment and xenobiotic compounds. She is currently Editor of Journal of Environmental Chemical Engineering by Elsevier. Since 2003, she has attracted more than 11 million EUR in research funds (from national and European funding agencies). She is the Chair of the European COST Action ES1403 "New and emerging challenges and opportunities in wastewater reuse (NEREUS)" and the project coordinator of the ITN Marie Sklodowska-Curie Action "ANSWER": Antibiotics and mobile resistance elements in wastewater reuse applications: risks and innovative solutions. She is leading WG5 of Norman Association on "Wastewater Reuse and Contaminants of Emerging Concern". She serves on numerous research evaluation panels (e.g. National Research Funding Agencies from Europe, Middle East, North Africa, Canada, USA, the European Science Foundation and the European Commission).